Life on A Broken Leg

my horse-falling-off adventure, my broken bones, my ilizarov frame, and my gradual recovery

Up-and-Downs of the Week

Leave a comment

Well after the considerable turmoil which followed from the consultants decision at frame clinic last week (see post here) I’ve had a week of very different emotions.

Lets start on the positive side – last night my niece and nephew came to stay overnight and we had such fun and laugher in the house. It was wonderful and they are such a great ‘medicine’ for me right now. I love being with them and just being able to act silly and play, its a great therapy. We all need more playtime in our lives.

And another very positive things is that I’ve managed to spend a whole day in the office and without too much discomfort and pain. I ordered an extra large/long beanbag which I’ve had delivered to the office and this gives me chance to relax and elevate the leg in between time at the desk/screen/phone calls.

Its been great to be back with colleagues and friends and to be feeling ‘normal’ in the working sense. Although I have to say I am not sure I get as much work done in the office as I have been getting done here at home! And of course I am still the main entertainment factor in the office – the use of my condition continues to generate plenty of social media hits/visits/likes .

“Guess who’s in the office today”!

Initially I was accepting of the situation, positive about how I could deal with another few months in the frame and ready to re-plan the weeks ahead with this in mind. My attitude was that there is nothing I can do to change the current situation and if I keep positive then at least the weeks will pass quickly and I’ll get stronger and more able as I go along even with the frame.

But, then I found myself over the course of a few days getting angry over the smallest of things and with just about everyone. And when I say angry, I wasn’t just simmering and cross – on a couple of occasions I was absolutely livid and crying over things which really are not very important at all. I am certain that I’ve upset some people including those closest to me of course, and I only hope that they understand and can be patient with me too.

Author: cosmicjulie

Julie is the CEO of COSMIC a social enterprise delivering ICT services in SW of England, and focussing on digital inclusion as a primary social objective. Cosmic works to provide support and co-ordinating projects for the benefit of voluntary and community organisations and social enterprises across the region.

Leave a comment