Life on A Broken Leg

my horse-falling-off adventure, my broken bones, my ilizarov frame, and my gradual recovery

Christmas Update

Leave a comment

I haven’t found much time to keep blogging recently. I’ve been in the office a lot more in recent weeks and able to do 3 or 4 days a week at my desk now without causing too much swelling and soreness. Its been good to have some routine again, although I am completely knackered in the evenings and tend to get in eat, clean up pin-sites and then head for bed. Still at least I’m back in action and I’ve also managed to get along to the couple of meetings and events in the past couple of weeks with support from friends and colleagues playing taxi. 

I’m still very aware of people’s reactions to the injuries and the frame. Generally people fall into two categories – people who clearly do not want to know the injury details at all let alone look at the frame in all its glory, and people who are completely fascinated by it all and will look really closely at the frame the pins and work out how its all holding together! And I have to say I’m not sure which type of reaction I feel comfortable with at all. I don’t like upsetting people, and I also feel a bit uncomfortable with close inspection of my leg (especially as its proving difficult to shave my hairy limb!)

So generally things have continued to improve. Swelling and soreness is still an issue especially if I spend too much time standing or sitting with my leg down. And I genuinely forget some days when I am absorbed in work! My physio sessions have stepped up a pace and I am now able to do a few minutes each on the treadmill and the cross-trainer. Its painful for sure, but it also feels really good to be moving and using muscles which haven’t been tested for 4 months now. 

My next hospital assessment (x-rays and consultation) is January 23rd and so I won’t know until then how much longer in the frame or what the long-term prognosis looks like. But hopefully the bones will have fused and strengthened enough for frame removal soon after that date and then I can really start to build strength and movement and recovery. I think there will always be a worry about re-fracture in the leg and so I’ll have to learn how to deal with that.

And so now I really am looking forward to Christmas. All my family is coming round for dinner and its going to be lovely to have everyone here celebrating and having fun. And then on to 2013 and some better news and lots of things I have to catch up on – including getting back in the saddle of course 🙂

 

 
10

Author: cosmicjulie

Julie is the CEO of COSMIC a social enterprise delivering ICT services in SW of England, and focussing on digital inclusion as a primary social objective. Cosmic works to provide support and co-ordinating projects for the benefit of voluntary and community organisations and social enterprises across the region.

Leave a comment