Life on A Broken Leg

my horse-falling-off adventure, my broken bones, my ilizarov frame, and my gradual recovery

Saying Thank you to Devon Air Ambulance

Leave a comment

This week we got chance to visit the operational HQ of Devon Air Ambulance – Helipad at Middlemoor, Exeter and it was a great opportunity to hear more about the service and offer a personal thank you to people who were involved in my rescue last August.

Sam and Amy came along and enjoyed hearing about the helicopters, how much the service is used across Devon and into neighbouring counties and lots of details about the training which paramedics get and the injuries that they are able to treat on site with the range of equipment purchased from funding. During this part Amy had a feint moment or two dwelling too much on the memories of my accident! .. but she soon recovered and enjoyed a cuppa. 

Image

I’ve been so proud to have support the Devon Air Ambulance Trust since my accident and will continue to do so for many years to come. They really did make all the difference in the immediate treatment and speed by which I got to hospital for further treatment and urgent surgery. My right leg is here because of them!

And finally I found out the names of the three crew who were my own heros last August – Damian, Glenn and Mark.  Thank you! X

Image

 

 
10

Author: cosmicjulie

Julie is the CEO of COSMIC a social enterprise delivering ICT services in SW of England, and focussing on digital inclusion as a primary social objective. Cosmic works to provide support and co-ordinating projects for the benefit of voluntary and community organisations and social enterprises across the region.

Leave a comment